Always Marry An April Girl
By Ogden Nash

Praise the spells and bless the charms,
I found April in my arms.
April golden, April cloudy,
Gracious, cruel, tender, rowdy;
April soft in flowered languor,
April cold with sudden anger,
Ever changing, ever true —
I love April, I love you.

Last year was hard although broken by an idyllic trip to my childhood home in the Adirondacks. It ended on a high note, with a trip to Florida and a visit with brothers and sisters I hadn’t seen in years. I got back to France and was anticipating looking for a new job, trotting obediently off to the unemployment office, sitting behind a desk, only to hear the person in charge of my dossier saying, “well, because of your age, we won’t be bothering you much with (needless) job searching.” After hearing that, I went out and looked by myself, finding an announcement for a librarian and I sent out my CV and cover letter, knowing chances were slim, but still hopeful. So far, I’ve had two interviews with the HR and the head librarian, as well as the mayor of the town, and an elected official. So chances are, before too long, I’ll have a new job in a library!