Today I made the world’s easiest lentil  soup. I was going to keep the recipe to myself – but I decided to be magnanimous, after all – there are others out there, too lazy to rinse, soak, and cook their dry lentils, then fry up onions and carrots and celery, then…bla bla bla. Listen – this soup is quick, easy, and delicious.

You need: 1 can of cooked lentils. A blender. Some bouillon (chicken or veggie), a pinch of hot pepper flakes, coconut milk (I get mine in a little carton – a half a cup is enough), and curry powder. Use the best quality curry powder you have – it’s worth it.

Directions: Open the can of lentils.  Put half in the blender. Add one mug of bouillon (half a bouillon cube for a full mug of boiling water if you like…) and blend until creamy. Pour into a pan and add the rest of the lentils, half a cup of coconut milk, and a good tablespoon of curry, and a large pinch of hot pepper flakes. Cook over medium heat until just bubbling. Reduce heat and simmer for a few minutes. Serve hot. 

I made this soup this afternoon for my son, who has a bad cold. He loved it, and had 3 bowls! He finished it – so I couldn’t even get a photo of it – but it was delicious. And easy.  I think that it is, without a doubt, the World’s Easiest Lentil Soup!

Enjoy!

Oh, and after I put an old stick of cinnamon in a mug of boiling water and let it seep for a while – then added honey – wonderful cinnamon tea. One stick makes about 6 cups of tea, then use the softened stick in a rice pudding recipe or cook it with a stew.

 

 

