TourBanner_SevenDays (1)Seven Days with You by Hugo Driscoll

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: YA Romance

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Sean Johnson’s life as a small-town farmhand has been nothing but predictable, but when he meets Sophia Hillingdon at the local animal sanctuary, she gets him out of an eighteen-year rut, away from the mundane existence on the farm, and a grieving, drunken father.

Sophia is the first person who understands him and makes him believe that he might get out of their small town, who tells him, he has the potential to be whoever he wants to be and do whatever he wants to do.

But as their relationship unfolds, it is the most devastating of news that will change both of them forever.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

 I hadn’t been anywhere, but my mind had been everywhere. That’s how I felt that summer. Or more precisely, that’s how Sophia had made me feel by the time summer neared its conclusion. The months of July and August had followed identical patterns to June in that we rarely spent a day apart. We rode with Violet across the Suffolk countryside, sometimes for miles on end, often stopping by at local pubs. Then it would be Saturday. That was the best day of all for there was no work on Sunday, which meant dancing with Tom and Jessica until our bodies could no longer stand. We drank, we laughed, and most nights after, we made love as we tip-toed up the stairs of my father’s house. I was obsessed with everything about her. Yes, Sophia Hillingdon, the girl I’d known for barely a few months was the girl I now wanted to spend the rest of my life with. And though we often drove each other crazy, we soon laughed and made up as if nothing happened. It often puzzled me as to why Sophia found our fights so amusing seconds after we were hot from the exertion of spouting obscenities at each other. Red-faced, she’d often say, “You drive me mad Sean. But, you know something? That’s just how I like it.”

“Why?” I’d ask.

“Us,” she would say. “I love how angry you make me because…. Well, I’m obsessed with you… even our arguments sound oddly beautiful.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Author Interview: Welcome, Hugo Driscoll,  author of the YA book, 7 Days with You. Can you tell us about yourself and your book?AuthorPicture

Any weird things you do when you’re alone?

I have a tendency to jump up and down a lot whenever something exciting pops into my head….

What is your favorite quote and why?

“I measured love by the extent of my jealousy” – Graham Greene

Why? Because it encapsulates what love is in one sentence; a force that makes us cling to a person we believe shouldn’t be with anyone else despite the planet we live in being home to some 7 billion people.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Charles Bukowski. His sentences are sweet and crisp, and he doesn’t rely on superfluous language to articulate himself.  And ‘Ham on Rye‘ is probably one my favourite coming-of-age novels.

What, in your opinion, are the most important elements of good writing?

Having life experiences is always good, but it’s not essential. What’s essential is having a voice that truly transfers itself from the pages and into the reader’s head.  To do that, you have to keep writing until your influences are that and little else. It’s standard practice to imitate the writing styles of those you admire. But once you find yours, you’re already halfway there. 

Where did you get the idea for this book?

The idea actually came to me from a rather disturbing dream concerning someone I’ve known almost my entire life. 

Having said that, I’d always wanted to write a story about two teenagers falling in love for the first time. That’s normally when most of us first encounter love and when it feels at its most raw because the feeling is new and unparalleled.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One randomly chosen winner via rafflecopter will win a $50 Amazon/BN.com gift card.

Enter to win a $50 Amazon/BN GC!

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Hugo Driscoll is a 25-year- old British journalist and content writer for an online publication in London.

When he’s not working, you can usually find him writing in the basements of cafes or lamenting the unfair treatment of millennials in overcrowded London bars.

You can also find Hugo on Twitter, Facebook, and his personal blog, which he updates regularly.

Seven Days with You is his first novel.
Twitter: @Hugosa
https://www.facebook.com/hugodriscollauthor
https://hugodriscollwriting.com/

Buy Links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Seven-Days-You-Hugo-Driscoll-ebook/dp/B07113VFF3/

Publisher: http://leapoffaithpublishing.net/?product=seven-days-with-you-by-hugo-driscoll

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_BookCover_7 Days With You by Hugo Driscoll (1)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

