You have no idea how good this is. Romaine lettuce, rinsed and sliced lengthwise in half. Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with sea salt. Grill until just charred on both sides. Now, you can do this a couple ways – you can grill the cut side 60 seconds or so, flip them over and sprinkle with blue cheese while grilling the other side. Take off the heat and serve with steak – and for an extra treat – add a dash of hot pepper sauce and honey.  OR, you can cook the salad both sides 60 seconds each, then serve with avocado – lime dressing which you can make in a blender with a ripe avocado, some lime juice, some white vinegar, some crushed garlic, and olive oil – whip it up and drizzle it on – serve with sliced red onion and tomatoes. Grilled Lettuce - 095

In Legends of Persia, Ashley &  Alexander are heading across the mountains on their way to Bactria to recover the crown of Persia and to try and find Paul, their infant son. Alexander the Great was able to take his army far because of the organization (imagine the logistics of feeding 60,000 men!)  He perfected the art of feeding his army with stocks of grain and livestock, and he planned carefully so he always had a steady food and water (and wine!) supply. An army is only as good as its health – Alexander had doctors and cooks with him too. And most meat and vegetables the army ate were grilled. Baked bread, peas, lentils, beans, olive oil and wine also accompanied the troops’ meal. If wine was  not available, there was barley beer, or even fermented honey (mead).

“For a normal  soldier, major nutrients were taken in through a variety of fruits and vegetables, while other rations, especially fish, were supplemented whenever possible. Non-perishable foodstuffs such as salt, onions, and thyme enhanced the soldier’s bounty, while any meat that was ordained edible could be cooked on the iron spits of a portable grill, which the soldier himself carried.” [Engels, Donald. Alexander the Great and the logistics of the Macedonian army. Univ of California Pr, 1980. Print.]

legends-of-persia-264288-510x590LEGENDS OF PERSIA

2nd in the Time for Alexander series. Ashley continues her incredible adventure in 333 BC as she follows Alexander the Great’s army on his journey across Persia. As a presumed goddess, Ashley is expected to bless crops, make sure battles are won, and somehow keep out of the daily journals sent back to Athens, while all the time searching for her son and keeping history on course.  

Alexander’s campaign against the mountain tribes in the Hindu Kush is given a new life, told from the viewpoint of a time traveling reporter. Ashley knows he’s on the most dangerous part of his fantastic voyage, but she has to walk the knife edge of history, keeping Alexander alive and not bringing the wrath of the Institute of Time upon her.

Buy links:  Published by Accent Press, Available through Simon & Schuster,  Amazon.com, Amazon.co.UK, Barnes & Noble,  ibooks, BAM!, !ndigo (Canada), Waterstones

Facebook Page

Excerpt:   We settled in the valley to wait for the rest of the army, and Alexander put Bucephalus in a large corral next to his tent so he could watch him closely. However, it seemed the horse had recovered. He kicked his feet up and rolled in the grass. Alexander leaned against the makeshift fence and watched him, his chin on his hands and his expression somber.

I went to stand beside him, putting my arms around his waist and resting my chin on his shoulder. He was still too thin. The past few days hadn’t helped, and he looked tired.

“What are you thinking about?” I asked him, my cheek next to his. I closed my eyes. He smelled good, he always did, a clean, musky scent.

He didn’t speak for a moment, then he said, “I’m twenty-five years old. When I was nineteen my father died, and when I was twenty I inherited his crown. I was young and brash. I felt as if the gods had spoken directly to me and commanded me to take my rightful place at the head of his army. The men welcomed me, and the first place I went was to the oracle, to ask if I would be successful. She said I would be invincible. And so I went to fight the strongest army in the world, armoured with the knowledge of my immortality, sure to win. And I did win.

“Then I met you, and you said you were from a time three thousand years in the future. Three thousand years.” His voice faltered. “It seems such a small thing when one says it. The sound of it passes so quickly. And then you look at a lifetime, and you think of your parents who seem so close, of your grandparents, whom you knew slightly, but did you know their parents? What were they like? Only three generations gone, and already the thread is frayed. Another two generations and it breaks. The memories stop. No one has ever seen his great, great, great grandfather. His life was a mystery.” He spread his hands in front of him, fingers outstretched.

“And then you said you came from a time when the ‘greats’ are too many to count. How many generations have passed? Are there any of my blood left? Does it matter? It would be as diluted as a drop of rainwater in the ocean.” His voice was bleak and his shoulders started to shake.

I held him tighter. “Don’t worry, please don’t worry,” I said.

He turned to face me. “Ashley, I never asked you, did I, to tell me about my future? The truth is, I’m afraid. I don’t want to hear it. When I went to see the oracles, I wasn’t afraid to hear my future. I asked because I didn’t truly believe. If you know that your questions will be answered, then it’s like looking death in the face, and nobody can do that.”

“I understand,” I whispered, my stomach knotting. I thought I knew what was coming next.

“I don’t want to know for myself. Because whatever stories about me remain three thousand years in the future, only the gods know which ones are true and which are legends. And if any of my family survive, how can I care about them? I care not for a man only four generations removed, my great, great grandfather.” His voice wavered and then he drew a deep breath. “Two days ago, eighty soldiers perished coming over the mountains. Eighty good men. Thirty-six died together when they fell into a ravine. The ground beneath them slid away. Fourteen died of the cold. Five starved. Three fell off the trail, and twenty-two died of what you called ‘altitude sickness’. Now we are going into a land that none of us knows. A land held by a madman, a traitor. Can you tell me if I will be successful?”

I shook my head. My pain must have shown on my face. “I don’t know. There are several years in your history that we know little about. I’m afraid I can’t help you.”

“And it would be these years in front of us.” He spoke without rancor.

“I’m sorry.” I would have loved to be able to say, “Go here, do that,” but I couldn’t. I did know something I wasn’t telling him. The next two years would be the most difficult his army had ever known.

cropped-mesite1About the author:

Jennifer Macaire lives in France with her husband, three children, & various dogs & horses. She loves cooking, eating French chocolate, growing herbs and flowering plants on her balcony, and playing golf. She grew up in upstate New York, Samoa, and the Virgin Islands. She graduated from St. Peter and Paul high school in St. Thomas and moved to NYC where she modeled for five years for Elite. She went to France and met her husband at the polo club. All that is true. But she mostly likes to make up stories.

