I got home from work last night and found…4 hungry people. And nothing cooking. It was 7 pm. Here’s what I did: I tossed: can of stewed tomatoes, can of corn, can of kidney beans, 1 tbs olive oil, 1/4 cup red wine, 1/4 cup ketchup, 2 tbs dried basil, 2 tbs cumin, 1 tbs chili powder, 1 tbs garlic powder, pinch salt, dash of pepper, in a pan and started to cook it. In a frying pan, I fried 2 frozen hamburgers and when they thawed I chopped and browned them with an onion. Stirred everything in the pot and set to bubble, and made some quick rice. Called it “Express Chili”, and served it to the hungry hordes.

For dessert, in a large bowl, I put: 2 rotten bananas (the best!), 1 cup sugar, 1 cup brown sugar, 1 tsp baking powder, 2 eggs, 1/4 cup melted butter, 1 cup milk, 1 tbs lemon juice, 2 cups flour, pinch salt, (some rum optional – in this case, I think I drank it…) Mix everything together with an electric beater. Pour into a cake pan and bake 35 minutes. Call it dessert – Super-duper quick banana cake – and enjoy!  Both recipes took less than an hour to make and serve, so we sat down to dinner at 8pm. I made the kids clean up. Natch. 

Pantry basics for chili: cans kidney beans, corn, stewed tomatoes, frozen ground meat, olive oil, red wine, basil, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, ketchup, rice.  For the banana cake: very ripe or rotten bananas, milk, butter, flour, sugar, baking powder.

