Welcome Jenny Kane! I’ve invited Jenny to guest blog – I read one of her books and loved it (“Abi’s House”) and now I’ve dived into her book “Romancing Robin Hood”, which is actually two stories in one and features a medieval mystery. At the same time, in modern days, a professor who has passed up romance because no man has ever interested her the way the legendary Robin Hood
does, is asked to a friend’s wedding…

Many thanks to Jennifer for inviting to me to her blog today.

If you have come across my work as Jenny Kane, you will associate me with contemporary fiction and romance and feel good novels, such as Another Cup of Coffee and Abi’s House.

rrh-new-2015In 2015 however, I made a mild departure from this genre when I wrote the timeslip novel, Romancing Robin Hood. Combining a medieval murder mystery with a modern day romance, Romancing Robin Hood is very important to me.

Like me, the lead character in the modern part of the novel, Dr Grace Harper, has a passion for all things connected with medieval England. In particular Grace shares my love of the television show, Robin of Sherwood– a fact which is all too clear within the novel!

It was my love for a 1980’s TV show that gave me one of the most amazing pieces of luck I’ve ever had. In April last year, through the miracle of social media, a lovely man called Barnaby Eaton-Jones spotted a post about Romancing Robin Hood. He then invited me to host a trade stand at the Hooded Man Event in Chepstow!

So, thirty years after the last episode of Robin of Sherwood aired, I found myself chatting to its stars, selling and signing books, and thinking that all my Christmas’s had come at once. As you would imagine from such a gathering, everyone was totally in love with the Robin Hood legend and medieval legends- my dream audience!!ros-banner

It wasn’t long however, before I noticed a pattern to the conversations I was having with the people buying my novel. Every single female Robin of Sherwood fan identified with the character of Grace. Each was chatty and passionate about the subject of medieval outlaws, and as I got to know everyone, I grew in confidence, and began to share a few ideas I’d had about expanding the medieval half of Romancing Robin Hood.

The medieval mystery part of the novel is a work of fiction composed by Grace herself. Bored of reading dry history textbooks, Grace decides to write a medieval story that is fun as well as historically sound.

This extra adventure centre’s round a young woman called Mathilda of Twyford, who enters the household of real life criminal band, the Folvilles of Ashby-Folville. This is the family who is most likely (in my opinion at least) to have been the basis for the original Robin Hood legends)

The reaction it my idea from the Robin of Sherwood fans to this interwoven tale was overwhelming.

Write more Mathilda.”

So, with their encouragement ringing in my ears, and the support of my lovely editor, I decided to do just that.

The result was the arrival of a ‘brand new me’- Jennifer Ash- medieval mystery writer!

outlaws-ransom-finalMy first task as Jennifer Ash was to rewrite the medieval portion of Romancing Robin Hood, and release it as a standalone novella entitled The Outlaw’s Ransom.

Blurb

The first in an exciting new series by acclaimed author Jenny Kane writing as Jennifer Ash.

When craftsman’s daughter Mathilda is kidnapped by the notorious Folville brothers, as punishment for her father’s debts, she fears for her life.  Although of noble birth, the Folvilles are infamous throughout the county for disregarding the law – and for using any means necessary to deliver their brand of ‘justice’.

Mathilda must prove her worth to the Folvilles in order to win her freedom. To do so she must go against her instincts and, disguised as the paramour of the enigmatic Robert de Folville, undertake a mission that will take her far from home and put her life in the hands of a dangerous brigand – and that’s just the start of things…

A thrilling tale of medieval mystery and romance – and with a nod to the tales of Robin Hood – The Outlaw’s Ransom is perfect for fans of C.J. Sansom and Jean Plaidy.

You can buy The Outlaw’s Ransom for your Kindle here –  and at Amazon.com here.

While readers of Romancing Robin Hood will already be familiar with the story within The Outlaw’s Ransom’s pages, I should say that it has been expanded and altered a little from its original version.

Mathilda’s story doesn’t end with The Outlaw’s Ransom. I have just finished writing the first draft of a full length novel, The Winter Outlaw, which continues Mathilda’s adventures. (Out Autumn/Winter 2017)

If crime is your thing, if you like medieval mysteries, or even if you just have a soft spot for Robin Hood, then why not give my Jennifer Ash persona a try?

Happy reading everyone,

Jennifer/Jenny

Bio-

Jennifer Ash is the author of the medieval murder mystery, The Outlaw’s Ransom (Dec, 2016). Her second novel, The Winter Outlaw, with be published in 2017.

You can find detail’s of Jennifer’s stories at www.jenniferash.co.uk

Jennifer also writes as Jenny Kane

Jenny Kane is the author the contemporary romance Another Glass of Champagne, (Accent Press, 2016), Christmas at the Castle (Accent Press, 2015), the bestselling novel Abi’s House (Accent Press, 2015), the modern/medieval time slip novel Romancing Robin Hood (Accent Press, 2014), the bestselling novel Another Cup of Coffee (Accent Press, 2013), and its novella length sequels Another Cup of Christmas (Accent Press, 2013), and Christmas in the Cotswolds (Accent, 2014).

Jenny’s fifth full length romance novel, Abi’s Neighbour, will be published in May 2017.

Jenny is also the author of quirky children’s picture books There’s a Cow in the Flat (Hushpuppy, 2014) and Ben’s Biscuit Tin (Hushpuppy, 2015)

Keep your eye on Jenny’s blog at www.jennykane.co.uk for more details.

Twitter- @JennyKaneAuthor

Facebook -https://www.facebook.com/JennyKaneRomance?ref=hl

Jenny/Jennifer also teaching creative writing under the company name Imagine… www.Imaginecreativewriting.co.uk

 

Photos are from the Medieval Fair held in Houdan, France. 

