We have a few homeless people in our town who sit in front of the post office or bakery. I usually ask them if they would mind holding my dog’s leash while I post letters or buy bread, then pay them for dog-sitting. Once, I left my dog with a man outside the store and came back to find a huge bag of dogfood had been given to his “minder” by a woman concerned about the dog. I gave the man his fee, plus full price for the bag of dog food as thanks. He thought it was hilarious. I did too, actually. My dog is a purebred dachshund with a really posh collar, and the man had explained the dog wasn’t his – but the woman had gone back into the store to buy the dog food for him since she was worried about the “homeless dog”. What galled the man was that she’d not given him anything!

 

