OK, I’m on the warpath – who wants to join me?

“Since Breitbart staffer and online troll Milo Yiannopoulos got banned from Twitter after inciting a massive wave of harassment against actress Leslie Jones, he’s been on a college tour — including a stop at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, where he openly mocked a transgender student. He also, apparently, has been finalizing a book deal: According to The Hollywood Reporter, Yiannopoulos has received a $250,000 deal from Threshold Editions, an imprint at Simon & Schuster. “ (NY mag, December 2016)

Dear Ms Burke,
I read that According to The Hollywood Reporter, Milo Yiannopoulos has received a $250,000 deal from Threshold Editions, an imprint at Simon & Schuster.

What is wrong with you? We tell our kids, “be a good person, be honest, work hard, and you’ll get ahead” – and this dickhead scumbag gets a quarter million advance? By writing insults and hatred?  I am boycotting Simon & Schuster. Free speech – fine, but being free to boycott and not buy shit is better. Sure, it won’t make a difference. Maybe I buy one book per week, sometimes from S&S, but never more. I am tired of this soulless, money-grabbing mentality that rewards evil (as an atheist, I never thought I’d use that word in a sentence). You could have offered him nothing. A pittance of an advance. But no. You had to go and make  mockery of all authors’ hard work, dedication, imagination and integrity. In fact, your imprint has spit on anyone who thinks that being a good person is its own reward. You have made it clear that the robber barons and charlatans, the talentless and the garbage strewers are the only ones being rewarded now.

I am sad for my children. Sad for the place this world has become. I will not give in though. I will not sit down and shut up. I am boycotting Simon & Schuster, and I am shouting it from the rooftops.


If you want to write to Simon and Schuster to tell them that they are beyond the pale for offering a quarter million in advance to this scumbag, here is the email: Louise.Burke@simonandschuster.com
