Have you ever read a book that moved you so much, it changed your life (or your outlook on something) and stayed with you forever?
I can remember my sister raving about ‘Flowers for Algernon’ and saying it changed her life (she was 13, but I still remember her talking about it), and I can clearly recall my brother engrossed in ‘The Trail of Tears’, and that book remained his favorite for years.
I can’t pinpoint any one book. For some reason, ‘Dune’ comes to mind, maybe because I wasn’t expecting it to be so captivating. ‘The Once and Future King’ is a book I can read over and over, and ‘A Canticle for Leibowitz’ is another favorite, but it’s not an epiphany. Oh well – it’s probably a stupid question. I don’t have an epiphany book. I’ll probably get over it, lol.
A better question is “what is for dinner?” because everyone is hungry – Julia isn’t home yet, but Alex is here, Stef just went to the bakery for two fresh baguettes, and I’m trying to resist eating a hunk of warm bread. There is also a basket of clementines on the counter – my favorite!
Tonight I think I’m just going to have ravioli and salad – too tired & lazy to really cook! Here is my MIL’s instant ravioli recipe: Can ravioli, creme fraiche, gruyere. Put the ravioli into a baking dish, cover with a layer of creme fraiche and then cover with shredded gruyere cheese. Bake until the top is browned and bubbling – eat with nice green salad and fresh French baguette – & for dessert clementines!
