Last minute Thanksgiving rush: Alex told me last night that Tony was coming, and Julia mentioned that Nicolas was going to be here, so could we do Thanksgiving dinner please mom? This morning Alex and I went shopping and bought 1 bag of cranberries, 2 fat hens, 3 sweet potatoes, 4 loaves of bread, 5 sticks of celery, 6 white potatoes, 7 green apples, 8 oz of heavy cream, (skip , 9, 10 and 11 – I don’t remember) – but there are 12 clementines. I came home and put the potatoes in the oven to bake and made the stuffing

(Here is the fastest stuffing in the world recipe: fry celery, onions and apples in butter, add sausage meat, when cooked add a huge dollop of Calvados brandy, then add breadcrumbs to absorb the juice – let cool and stuff chickens).

When the potatoes were cooked I cooked the chickens. When the chickens were done, I made gravy with the drippings and the cream – mashed the potatoes, served it all with the stuffing & gravy on the side. Total time prep & cooking, 3 hours. Now to sit back with a hot tea, a clementine, & watch Independence Day!See original image

