Sunday, run day – run day for Julia, who jogs for nearly an hour as we head to the market place via the river walk. I follow on my bike. I have a new bike basket – for shopping. I’m absurdly happy. So off we go. Julia trotting, me pedaling, chatting (she keeps waving her hands to show me she wants me to talk to her – what about? I’m busy playing music in my head.) So I talk about this and that – and we find ourselves at the Val Fouré market, a huge, open air market where I buy grilled chicken, fruit and veggies, fresh baguette – then we head back home. We’ve gone 6 kilometers – not bad for a morning. But we have to go back now. Julia is tired, so she takes the bike, and I take a hike.

As we head back, we pass a very large man on a small bike, he’s pedalling hard, in a hurry, and clutching a bike-lock chain, with the key still in the lock. I’m bemused – stare after him. “Odd”, I think. We’re next to a Pakistani restaurant and it’s got good samosas, so I stop in to get some takeaway. The waiter is staring out the window saying, “I can’t believe it, my bike is missing!”

I say, “was your bike black, and did you have a black chain to lock it with?”

“Yes, how do you know?”

“I just saw it being ridden down the street by the bike thief. He went that-a-way.” I point. ” But you shouldn’t have left the key in the lock,” I continue. “It made it easy for him.”

“But I didn’t leave the key in the lock, I have it right here…” he pats his pocket and his face falls. “Oh no, I must have left it in the lock. Oh well – don’t feel too bad – I got the bike second hand at a garage sale.” He shrugged, and then went to get my samosas.

Back home, I decided to clean (must have been the shock) and then made a lemon pie. I have yet to taste it, because it is like molten lava – so I’m letting it cool, but it smells divine. Here is the recipe:recipe_main_84141223_30750_OikonimikoMenu_whole_lemon_tart

2 small lemons, ends cut off, cut in 8 parts and seeds removed. 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1/2 cup softened butter, 2 tablespoons flour, 1 egg, 1/2 cup plain yogurt,  1 pinch salt, 1 pie crust.

Put the lemons in a mixer and blitz until liquified. Add all other ingredients and blitz again, mix for a couple minutes. (I just added everything together and blitzed…) Sprinkle some corn starch on the pie crust and pour in the lemon mix. Bake in 350° oven for 45 – 50 minutes. 

Here is the yogurt-free recipe, (and you can pre-bake the pie crust – I did not and it turned out fine.)

  • 1 whole lemon sliced and seeds removed (1 big lemon or 2 small ones…)
  • 1 1/2 cup (300 grams) sugar
  • 1/2 cup (113 grams) unsalted butter, cubed
  • 4 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
    To make the filling:

    Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Place the tart on a sheet pan and cover with a greased sheet of foil, shiny side down. Fill tart with dried beans or pastry weights and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and bake uncovered for another 5 minutes.

    1. In the bowl of a food processor, pulse the lemon slices, sugar, and sugar until pureed. Add the eggs, cornstarch, and salt and pulse until smooth. Pour into the parbaked shell and bake until the middle is set, or just barely jiggles when bumped.
    2. Let cool slightly before removing sides. Serve warm or chilled. Store tart in the fridge.
