For the past week, I’ve been making banana bread nearly every day. The boys eat it morning noon and night, and beg for more – so I’m happy to oblige. And now, without further ado – the best banana bread recipe! 

2 very ripe (can be rotten) bananas. 2 cups flour. 250 ml soured milk (add the juice of 2 lemons to the milk and let curdle). 2 eggs. 3/4 cup melted butter. 1 1/2 cup sugar. 1 teaspoon bicarbonate. 1/2 teaspoon salt. 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Optional: 1/4 cup Kahlua*.

I just toss it all in a bowl and use the electric beater to mix it, then pour into a 9 inch pie pan and cook for 30 -35 minutes at 180°C. I’m kind of vague with the measurements – mostly I just wing it – been making banana bread so long I don’t need a measuring cup, except for the flour – 2 cups, that’s it, the rest is mostly guesswork. It’s nice, because the banana bread always tastes good no matter what you do with it – and you can hardly  burn it – today I think I cooked it 40 minutes and it came out fine. Alex ate his hot with vanilla ice-cream, so of course I had to do the same – heaven!

*The Kahlua gives it a nice taste, and you can use whiskey or rum & cinnamon. You can replace to curdled milk with sour cream, or use just milk, if you don’t like the lemony taste.

