I made some scones the other day, and when I told my husband what I was baking, he didn’t understand. (He’s French). “I smell drones” he said, as he came back from golf. “They smell good!”

I told him, “Scones, not drones.” 

Cinnamon and black pepper scones

Makes 8/10 scones

225g self-raising flour, plus extra for dusting

2 tablespoons caster sugar

1 ½ teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

¼ teaspoon salt

90g unsalted butter

200 ml buttermilk, plus extra for brushing (for buttermilk, I just add the juice of half a lemon to the milk).

1 egg yolk (optional)

A 5.5 cm cutter (I use a glass) 

  1. Preheat the oven to 220˚C.
  2. Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon, black pepper and salt until well blended. Add the butter and rub into the mixture with your fingers to obtain medium fine crumbs. Make a well in the centre and gradually incorporate the buttermilk.
  3. Place the dough on a lightly floured surface and knead delicately. Repeat three times. Let it rest for 5 minutes.
  4. Lightly roll the dough to a thickness of about 2cm. Dip the cutter into a little flour then press into the dough to stamp out the scones. Gather what is left of the dough, roll out and stamp out the last scones. Place the scones on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Brush the top with a mixture of egg yolk and one tablespoon of buttermilk. Bake for 10/12 minutes, until well risen and golden.

These are fabulous eaten warm with soft goat cheese and honey!

