For my birthday I got a new bike! Hurray! I love it – I used to have a man’s bike, now it’s a woman’s bike – so much nicer to ride. It’s white, with a bell, a light – and I want to get a basket for shopping. Today I rode my bike to the police station because I witnessed a scam involving two men and a dog. Here’s what they do – they kick a car going by slowly and the dog starts to scream. I think they have an electric collar. Anyhow – one man stops the car, and makes believe that the dog was hit. The person in the car is asked to pull over, and gets out to see the dog. The man then says he needs to take the dog to the vets, and gets money. It happened twice yesterday next to my office. I told the police about it, but they can’t really do anything until they catch the scam in action. So keep an eye out – if you are driving slowly through a village, and someone stops you and says you hit their dog – tell them to call the police and you’ll make a declaration. Never give them money! It’s definitely a scam – it happened twice, with the same dog, right next to the office yesterday. 

Also yesterday, Julia and I went to the farm to get some fresh veggies, and the tomatoes are starting to ripen! We picked tomatoes, eggplants, zucchini, peppers, and a huge bouquet of flowers. Since there were tons of green tomatoes, I made fried green tomatoes last night.

Fried Green Tomatoes:

3 large green tomatoes, flour, 1 egg, breadcrumbs, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  Mix the flour, breadcrumbs, garlic powder and a pinch of salt and pepper together. Lightly whisk the egg in another bowl. Slice the tomatoes about half an inch thick. Heat a mixture of butter and oil in a skillet (not quite half an inch of oil – just enough to fry them, but not to cover the tomatoes). Dip tomatoes in egg, then dip in breadcrumb mixture and cover well. Fry until golden on both sides on medium heat, and put on paper towels to dry. Serve piping hot. Make extra – they are wonderful cold in sandwiches too!

Fried Green Tomatoes Photo

