It’s rainy and warm today – and another wind storm is on its way. Batten down the hatches and close the shutters time.

Yesterday I kicked some elf butt with my barbarians. Yes, I got an early Christmas present from my son. We’re Heroes of Might and Magic players (well, I am. My sons play everything). And I got the last game in the series – the barbarian hordes. Lots of fun. I built up a mighty army and stomped all over those pretty elf warriors.
In game one, (if you’ve played Heroes you’ll know what I mean) the action was very stilted. Sort of like the ancient pakman games. Or Mario Brothers one! I remember the day my husband Finally saved the princess. He’d been playing for weeks (months!) and he finally got to the end! (I still hadn’t quite managed to perfect the ‘B’ jump). Then Mario morphed and became more complex. I still held onto game one, along with the old Nintendo unit until it finally blew a fuse and died. Well, Heroes evolved the same way. From two dimensional clonking figures to amazing three dimensional life-like artforms. Gorgeous backgrounds. Amazing effects.
And I was thinking – During my lifetime we went from table-tennis games (the famous ping-pong TV game set in a huge table) to packman, to space invadors (You remember them?) to more complex games that were total busts (We had the first Star Trek game. My kids would make Captain Kurt shoot at Spock, and Spock would say, “Jim! Point that gun somewhere else!”)
And then the games evolved and got even more amazing (Rama). And then we discovered Mario, Heroes, and the rest is…progress.
So that was the progress in my life. And telephones too. That’s what I remember most about the progress made during my life so far. Communication and video games.
My great-grandmother was born in the late 1800’s – she remembers the advent of electricity, cars, and space travel.
Now, who has more impressive memories? Is it just me, or is mankind getting bogged down in the gaming thing?

