It’s far hotter than usual here in France. The grass, despite the frequent thunderstorms, is bleached nearly white and the air is heavy and still. I bought two fans at the hardware store – they were the two last fans in the store! I rather like them; they’re retro style, silver, like something you’d see in the office of a private eye in an old detective movie. When I see them I feel like leaning back in my chair and putting my feet up on my desk.

I have been trying to catch up on blogs and such, but haven’t had much time. I was gone for over a month, and my son and husband were here by themselves…and neither is ‘into’ housework. So I’ve been busy scrubbing and cleaning. In the heat it takes longer.

I’ve also been reading a lot. My mom gave me a stack of books when I was in NY (my suitcases were Heavy!) and I read Mo Hayder’s ‘The Devil of Nanking’ with my skin just crawing in horror. What a cool book. I’m also reading ‘Flyboys’, a terrific book about Io and Imo Jima in the Pacific. Absolutely fascinating. And sad too. The Human race is SO fucked up. The word is strong, but you have to read the book to understand why I use it.
Anyhow, for summer reading I would reccommend ‘Flyboys’ and ‘The’ Devil of Nanking’ and for something light and fun, ‘Eleven on Top’ by Janet Evanovich. (recommended by my aunt)

What are you reading this summer?

