I just finished reading Marley and Me, and it was the cutest book! I’ve had Labradors all my life – so they are near and dear to my heart. Marley’s antics are so typically Lab that it should be required reading for anyone thinking about getting a Lab.
Here are some of the things my Labs have done:
Chewed rugs, chair rungs, a wicker chair (the whole thing reduced to matchstick-size overnight) the TV control, & any food within reach, including a whole platter of frozen shrimp left on the table to thaw.
Ripped the handle clean off the front door (fear of thunderstorms). I left my dog alone when I went shopping and there was a sudden storm. She literally tore the front door apart to get out of the house. She ran to my neighbor’s house and crashed through his screen door to hide under his legs (he was in his dining room – startled him, as you can imagine.) She was terrified of storms and just the hint of a grumble of thunder in the air sent her shooting under my son’s bed where she’d stay, shaking, until the storm was over.
This same dog: One day a summer thunderstorm hit and my sons were still out in the yard. She went out to get them to bring them back inside where it was safe. I can still see her, practically crawling out to them, her tail tucked between her trembling legs, pushing them with her nose towards the house, whining with terror.
This same dog (her name was Fudge): when my daughter was born she would lie in front of the baby stroller. If anyone came near, she would lift her lips without a sound, showing her sharp teeth. If the person insisted on coming a step closer, a loud growl would sound deep in her throat. NO one ever took another step closer. I could leave my daughter in her stroller and feel she was perfectly safe.
When I was a baby we had two yellow Labs, Cain and Abel. Cain died, and Abel lay on his grave and would not eat. He let himself die as well.
I have another Lab called Rusty now. She loves Everyone. She is not a guard dog. She never barks – ever. She is, without a doubt, the sweetest Lab I’ve ever known. All she wants to do is eat, lol. She loves to play, and her favorite game is sliding down the hill in the snow like an otter. She runs, leaps into the air, and slides down the hill on her belly. Julia has trained her to do all sorts of tricks with a hoop and balls, like a circus dog. Julia comes home from school and plays with Rusty every day for hours, until it’s time to come indoors. And when she goes out on walks, Rusty is right by her side, freinds for life. I always feel secure knowing the dog is with her. Rusty is also a surprisingly good bird dog and has a wonderful nose for seeking out and bringing in the birds Stef has shot, but she won’t swim (odd for a Lab). Once, when Stef shot a duck, it landed in a brook. Rusty looked at the duck, floating down stream, and ran to a low bridge and waited until the duck arrived, and she lay down on her stomach and grabbed the duck out of the water.
I love Labs.

