I’m sitting here in new jeans today. The last time I bought a pair of pants was two years ago, so this is an ‘event’, lol. Actually, I didn’t buy these. I’ve been giving English lessons to two adorable children and their father makes jeans. I said I’d work for pants. I often do that – all last year I gave English lessons in exchange for ironing. I love working for what the French call ‘troc’. (exchange) It’s more fun than getting paid, and when you can help each other out at the same time it’s even better. I have five bushels of apples I got when I helped a friend clear out an old orchard, and in exchange for watching three kids today, I got three pumpkins and three winter squash!
In Argentina a couple years ago, when the economy crashed, there was no more money circulating and everyone paid by ‘troc’. People baked cakes and made pizzas for example, and brought them to a huge warehouse where other people had knitted sweaters, brought old clothes, or anything they could exchange for something they needed. And while we don’t actually go that far here in France, three times a year there are toy, book, and clothing sales where you bring your old, unwanted things to the school gymnasium and either swap or sell what you have.
I wish I could get rid of my sons’ old Nintendo games, but they claim they will be worth lots of money in fifty years…

